ARTS & SCIENCES FACULTY COUNCIL MEETING Wednesday, May 3, 2023 @ 3:30 Minutes

1. Call to Order

2. Roll Call

ASFC Present: Joe Haley (PHYS, Chair), Apple Igrek (PHIL, Secretary), Eric Turcat (LANGLIT), Saima Shahid (PBEE), Andy Dzialowski (IB), Lisa Mantini (MATH), Ye Liang (STAT), Jen Labrecque (PSYC), Rebekah Herrick (POLS), James Knapp (GEOL), Nataša Kaurin-Karača (MSC, NTT), Erin Murphy (MSC), Rosemary Avance, (MSC, Equity Advocate and BHPP), Jason Estala (TH), Noha Youssef (MICR), Erin Murphy (MUSI), Monica Whitman (SOC), Brandon Spencer (GEOG, NTT), Sherri Norton (CDIS)

ASFC Absent: Emily Graham (HIST, Vice-Chair), Pouya Jahanshani (ART), Elijah Schnitzler (CHEM), Cong Pu (CS), Michael Armory (ENGL), Don Colley (GEOG)

Administration Present: Dean Keith Garbutt, Associate Dean Thad Leffingwell, Associate Dean Mario Borunda

Guests: Isabel Alvarez-Sancho (EAC Liaison),

3. Approval of May 2022 Minutes

Murphy motions Knapp seconds Minutes approved

4. Approval of August 2022 Agenda

Knapp motions Avance seconds Agenda approved

5. Dean Garbutt's Report

The Dean reports that overall the semester is off to a good start and that university enrollment has increased once again. The College enrollment has technically decreased, but that is easily explained by the fact pre-nursing has been moved. If it weren't for that we could also report higher enrollment. The search for a new dean has begun, and the committee is comprised of several department heads across the College.

6. Election of Standing Committees

Nataša Kaurin-Karača was nominated by Lisa Mantini to be Chair of the NTT Committee, which was seconded by James Knapp and then unanimously passed. The chairs for the Sabbatical Leave and RPT Committees will be selected by those

committees. There was no volunteer for the CPP Chair, so that determination has been held off until the next ASFC meeting in September.

7. Approval of Standing ASFC Committee Members

The following members have been approved for standing committees: Bester Christian (MSUSI) and Sabiha Parveen (CDIS) for CPP; Shamsuddin, Rittika (CS) for CGEE; Jason Estela (TH), Steve Nemeth (POLS) for R&P; Sumin Shin (SMSC) and Brad Bayes for Scholarship; An Cheng (ENGL) for Sabbatical Leave; Matteo Minghetti (INT BIO), Andrew Fullerton (SOC), and Lucia Ciciolla (PSYC) for RPT; and finally Chris Drohan (PHIL), Lisa Ashley (CDIS), Cynthia Francisco (MATH), Jen Labrecque (PSY), Eric Howerton (ENGL), Brandon Spencer (GEOG), and Nataša Kaurin-Karača (MSC) to the new NTT Committee.

8. ASFC Committee Reports

a. College Policy and Planning – None

Although there is no current chair, James Knapp spoke up about the survey sent out to faculty on the possibility of a new shared leave policy, and reported that the results do indeed show great interest in revising this policy.

b. Scholarship – Rosemary Avance

The Council unanimously passed the scholarship committee's new award and the suggested updates to existing award language. These will be awarded this fall!

c. Sabbatical Leave - None

Nothing to report.

- d. Reappointment, Promotion and Tenure None
- e Curriculum, General Education, and Extension Andy Dzialowski

In early September the Committee will begin processing departmental applications for new/revised courses, degrees, programs, etc. The Committee is working to follow the set of best management practices that last year's committee created. Actions are due to the College from departments around September 1, and then will be reviewed by the Committee through September into October. There is a tight timeline for completion of this process. More information will be available in the coming months as we review applications.

There was a question about the timing of the process. Last year the Committee attempted to extend the deadline for reviewing applications. However, this was unsuccessful.

Jim Knapp also pointed out that there is a review process both in the fall and spring. However, the vast majority of applications are submitted to the College in the fall.

f. Rules and Procedures – Lisa Mantini

As the Charter was edited and updated last year, the Bylaws must likewise be updated to remain consistent with those changes. The relevant changes pertain to the new CAS faculty designation, but also include the removal of gendered language, correcting typos, numbering paragraphs, and adding contents for organizational purposes.

g. NTT – none

The first meeting will be next week.

9. Other Committee Reports

a. Equity Advocates – Isabel Alvarez-Sancho

Nothing to report.

b. Bias and Harassment Ad Hoc Committee – Rosemary Avance

They finished interviewing over the summer and are now analyzing the data.

10. Old Business

Bylaws already discussed by Lisa Mantini.

11. New Business

Several of our policies in the Bylaws refer to actions by the Chair, but we don't explicitly define the terms of the officers, so there's no guidance of who is in charge during the summer. In addition, we have issues with continuity in the absence of a Past Chair position, so the incoming Chair is essentially on their own at the start of a new academic year. These would be reasonable issues to pass on for consideration by the Rules and Procedures Committee.

9. Announcements

New pictures of officers needed soon to update the ASFC page online.

10. Adjournment